ATROCIOUS – Left-to-right: Abbi, Anton, Okka, Iboy

ATROCIOUS is an Indonesian death metal band formed in Tangerang in 2012. Founded by Anton Setyo (former guitarist of Scream Head and Soil, playing bass for Cyclops), PREDATOR’s frontman Oki, drummer Yanto (ex-VILE), and former CRUSHGEAR’s bassist Yudi. The four metal musicians were seen doing frequent jam session in some studio in Ciledug area, Tangerang during that time.

Anton then asked the other three to establish a new death metal band. Fellow guitarist Nyomenk from DROP  proposed ATROCIOUS as his friends’ new band’s name, inspired by Dying Fetus’s song Atrocious by Nature from 2009 album Descend into Depravity. Atrocious was officially born on February 14, 2012 and active in Jabodetabek metal realms.

2013 saw a massive change in the band’s lineup. Yudi, Yanto and Oki quit the band to focus in their other careers. Anton decided to continue Atrocious and starting to recruit new members.  Drummer Dirga Laga from Fadihat/Garagore joined subsequently.

Jakarta veteran metal guitarist Sutan Heila Tanissan (Wuruju, ex-Trauma/Grausig/Tengkorak) introduced Anton to Hukum Karma’s frontman Eka Pratama a.k.a Okka in May 2013. Okka agreed to join force.

Former Gore Animal’s bassist Abbi Mohas was the last person to join, ending his long music sabbatical since 2001.

Revenge of Killer

This formation was signed by Jakarta-based independent label Grind Life Records. The new Atrocious entered  Studio A2 Petukangan, South Jakarta in May 2015, to record their full-length debut album Revenge of Killer. Owner of Grind Life Records Bayu Adriansyah produced eleven tracks for the album himself.

Revenge of Killer was engineered and mixed by Felix and Nugraha Andiman (Rising the Fall). Rofiq from Piggore Art was employed to design the cover, and lay out was done by Bayu and Anton. Guest musicians who involved in the recording session were guitarist Heila Tanissan and drummer Nugraha Andiman.

Three songs were released as a demo titled Mutilation for Satisfaction on September 30, 2015.

Grind Life Records officially released Revenge of Killer on December 23, 2015 and USA-based independent label Force Fed Merch distributed it in North America.

To support the album, Atrocious held a promo tour and played in many gigs during 2015 and 2016. The band’s hectic roster pushed Dirga Laga to quit the band in March 2016, due to work commitment in his office. Dirga’s last gig with Atrocious was Kudus Metal Fest.

Atrocious subsequently employed their guitar/drum tech Selvianus a.k.a Iboy Coolant (ex-Gelgamesh) as additional drummer. Iboy was officially presented as the band’s permanent member in August 2016.

Killer Instinct

Tangerang-based independent record company DG Records secured a deal with the band to release their sophomore album titled Killer Instinct.

The last lineup hired Barata Studio and Pratama Studio, both in Ciledug, Tangerang, and Gana Studio in Bintaro, South Tangerang, to record Killer Instinct. The band employs Veggy Rubby Pratama (Silent Heals, Pratama Studio) to do the recording engineering and mixing. Two eminent metal illustrators Rob from Depictgore Art, and Herry “Tapok” (guitarist of Fadihat) were hired to do cover art and layout design, respectively.

Guest musicians who involved in this album are Veggy Rubby Pratama (Silent Heals), Ade “Kepun” (Qishash / Cranial Corpse), Bada Riyadi (Croxous), and Heila Tanissan (Wuruju).

A promo CD consists of 2 songs was released in January 2017. For the 2017 demo, DG Records hired Itenk Riot from Illustrasick Art to do the album cover. DG Records’s owner Denis Suhendra designed the layout himself.

The second album Killer Instict is scheduled to release in second quarter of 2017.

Atrocious commemorated its five glorious years in musical journey by throwing a birthday gig on Sunday, February 18, 2017 at Gana Studio Hall, Bintaro, South Tangerang. The gig called “Tumpengan Metal Fest” was celebrated by Atrocious and other 15 fellow bands i.e. Silent Heals, Chudaiva, Class of Death, Twin Force Kill, Failed Virgin, Human Remind, Jeritan Babi, Suffer Inferni, Muara Dosa, Cranial Corpse, Devil Death Castle, Drop, Fadihat, Croxous, and Qishash.


In their statement to, Atrocious mentions Dying Fetus, Cannibal Corpse, Pyamea, Suffocation, Disgorge, Gorgasm and System Of A Down as their main influences.




Eka Pratama a.k.a Okka: vocals (2013 – present)
Anton Setyo: guitars (2012 – present)
Abbi Mohas: bass (2013 – present)
Selvianus a.k.a Iboy Coolant: drums (2016 – present)


Oki: vocals (2012 – 2013)
Yanto: drums (2012 – 2013)
Yudi: bass (2012 – 2013)
Dirga Laga: drums (2013 – 2016)


2015 – Mutilation for Satisfaction demo (Grind Life Records, Jakarta)

Track Listing

1. Amis Darah 03:29
2. Mutilation for Satisfaction 03:19
3. Mati Terbakar !! 03:47

2015 – Revenge of Killer (Grind Life Records, Jakarta)

Track Listing

1. Intro 00:27
2. Blood 00:55
3. Amis Darah 03:32
4. Musuh atau Lawan 02:47
5. Paranoid High Volt 03:46
6. Sekarat 02:57
7. Bunuh 02:34
8. Mati Terbakar 03:50
9. Mutilation for Satisfaction 03:22
10. Revenge of Killer 04:52
11. Sadis 01:44

2017 – Promo CD (DG Records, Tangerang)

Track Listing

1. Jasad Tanpa Kepala 02:39
2. Mati Membusuk 02:31



Facebook :  ATROCIOUS
Bandcamp:  Atrocious 
Metal-archives :  Atrocious 
Youtube: Atrocious
Soundcloud: Atrociousdeathmetal 
Address: Studio B11 (Atrocious).
Jln.Prof Dr Hamka, Cluster Puri Permata Blok B 11 Rt.001/015 – Larangan Selatan Ciledug Tangerang, 15154 Tangerang, Banten – Indonesia
Booking: +6281289987899 (Anton) / +6289697178623 (Abbi).



Facebook Comments

7 thoughts on “Profile: ATROCIOUS

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: