Profile: Lost Our Fears

Lost Our Fears is an Indonesian metalcore act from Blitar, East Java. Formed in 2014 on the ashes of the members’ previous band Morrgoth. The story can be traced back to 2005 when Davia Andrian and his junior high school mate Yulis Efendi forming a black metal band named Morrgoth.

They recruited another high school fellows to complete the initial line up. The newly established Morrgoth’s original members consisted of Davia Andrian (bass), Yuli (vocals), Arwan (guitars), Franky J. Corputty (keyboards), Verry Kristiandy (guitars) and Basoffi Lofa (drums).

Morrgoth started as a cover band and played musics of Craddle of Filth and Dimmu Borgir.

2011 saw an immense change of the band’s music direction. Morrgoth began to play progressive metal music and covered music of Dream Theater. This new music concept forced Yulis Effendi to leave Morrgoth. He then worked as an artist.

Davia Andrian and Franky Corputty switched positions after Yuli’s departure. Davian became the band’s frontman and Franky took the role of bass player. Franky was previously known as an awarded bass player in Blitar, winning some best player accolades from local band competitions with his other projects.

The new Morrgoth then entered Mr. Studios Blitar to record their first single You Must Killed by My Hands. 

With this single, Morrgoth joined the prestige Hard Rock Rising 2012 and entered final in Bali. They lost to Superman is Dead. Morrgoth then prepared materials for debut EP project.

In the same year, the band organized a birthday gig to celebrate their 7th anniversary. The gig was titled “Distortion Force: 7th Anniversary of Morrgoth”.

In the eve of EP debut recording session, Arwan and Basoffi Lofa left Morrgoth. The band recruited drummer Tria Aryanto and Undefeated Fighters Bring Fearlessly’s guitarist Verry Kristiandy to fill the vacant positions. Another guitarist Rizky Kurniawan joined the band later.

With this formation, the band released single The Werewolf  in 2013, recorded at Celestial Sphere Studios, Surabaya.

The band once again joined a national band competition Kickchick Indienation # 3 in 2013, held by Kickchick Cloth. They were voted as the top 5 bands with the highest vote.

In 2014, the band released their sophomore single Dying Indonesia, from their previous work at Celestial Sphere Studio, Surabaya.

On September 9, 2014 the band decided to change their musical concept once again. This time, they picked metalcore as their music. The band dropped black-metal-esque Morrgoth and picked a new “metalcore” name Lost Our Fears.

Guns of Destruction

Lost Our Fears wrote new materials and re-worked previous songs to fit their new shape as metalcore band. The band entered Glasslight Studio, Lumajang to record their debut EP entitled Guns of Destruction.

Five songs were recorded, mixed and mastered by the studio’s owner/engineer Wildan Willy.  Single Voiceless Scream was introduced in 2015. Lost Our Fears release a teaser video of Guns of Destruction through YouTube on October 11, 2015.

All five songs were composed by Franky J. Corputty, and arranged by Franky J. Corputty, Verry Kristiandy and Tria Aryanto.

Davia Andrian designed the cover art and the teaser. Fellows Himawan Eka Sanjaya and Listya Dwi Saraswati were credited as the album photographers.

Guns of Destruction was released on June 6, 2016. Lost Our Fears published lyric video for single The War on the band’s  YouTube channel on June 25, 2016, created by Fajar Ardiani.


1. Cycle’s End 01:05
2. Arise 03:14
3. The War 03:44
4. Voiceless Scream 04:02
5. Dying Indonesia 06:10

A launch party was thrown on Auguts 27, 2016 at Warung Padaganan, Blitar. Nine fellow bands from Blitar, Malang and Lumajang were featured at the show i.e. Crushed Of Flower, Fallen To Pieces, God Father,  Cancerfist, Xpembunuhx,  Undying Suffer, Broken Bones, Last Train To Heaven, and Hunter Attack.


Recent Development

On September 5, 2016, Lost Our Fears released video lyric for single Voiceless Scream. The single then was listed on Breathing The Core: Christmas Compilation # 2.

Guitarist Rizki Kurniawan quit the band for undisclosed reason early 2017. Yunani Arifin from punk rock act Bully Bratt was recruited to fill Rizki’s shoes.

An official music video for Voiceless Scream was published on April 13, 2017. The video was directed by Fajar Ardiani from Onefold Production with fellow Nyoto Priono as the lead cast.


Frontman Davia Andrian in his recent interview with cited big names like As I Lay Dying, Arch Enemy, August Burns Red, Bullet for My Valentine, Cradle of Filth, Dream Theater, Helloween, Iron Maiden, Lamb of God, Linkin Park, Metallica, Nirvana and  While She Sleeps as the band’s main influences.

He added the band is currently working for next album and music video.

He mentioned Franky J. Corputty now works as engineer for Merapi Music & Recording Studio, and along with guitarist Ilham Budi Prasetyo from Blue Diamond, he made a series of bass and guitar tutorial videos.



Davia Andrian – vocals (2011 – present), bass (2005 – 2011)
Franky J. Corputty –  bass, vocals (2011 – present), keyboards (2005 – 2011)
Verry Kristiandy – guitars (2005 – present)
Tria Aryanto – drums (2013 – present)
Yunani Arifin – guitars  (2017 – present)


Yulis Efendi – vocals (2005 – 2011)
Arwan – guitars (2005 – 2013)
Basoffi Lofa – drums (2005 – 2013)
Rizki Kurniawan – guitars (2013 – 2017)


2016 – EP Guns of Destruction


2016 – The War (lyric video)
2016 – Voiceless Scream  (lyric video)
2017 – Voiceless Scream  (official video)


Facebook: Lost Our Fears
BandCamp: Guns of Destruction
Instagram: @lostourfears_id
SoundCloud: Lost Our Fears 
Twitter: @lostourfears
YouTube: Lost Our Fears 
Booking: +6281252434268



Facebook Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: