North Celebes Infantry Battalions present Monsters of Distortion 5

North Celebes Infantry Battalions, a prominent underground society in North Sulawesi Province, will bring back the most anticipated metal gig series in northern part of Sulawesi: the Monsters of Distortion. The fifth installment will be held this Saturday, July 8, 2017 at Kopination Cafe, Tikala, Manado, starting from 4 PM to 12 AM Central Indonesian Time.

Fourteen dangerous bands from North Sulawesi and North Maluku will share the stage, showcasing their talent and abilities to metal music aficionados in Manado. Ternate-based brutal death metal act  Dark Authority will rock the show along with Artubiem, Waruga, Guillotine, Dangerous of Eternity, Karikatur, Calvarium, et cetera.

Dark Authority will present a brutal set list comprises songs from their promotional CD titled Demo 2016, released on January 16, 2017.  The band has been working days and nights to finish their debut studio album entitled Bandit Berdasi, expected to be released sometime this year.

The most dangerous and brutal band in Ternate was established in 2011 by bassist Azwar Karim M. Saleh from heavy metal veteran Secret Nite, as his death metal side project. After a series of line up changing, Dark Authority now consists of Azwar (vocals/bass), M. Zainul Mubarak Kasim (guitars) and Amri Hayat (drums).

Manado-based Northorn will play with new bass player at Monster of Distortion 5, the Facebook page announced last March. The doom/black metal act is known for their prolific recording works, having published 4 EP’s and 3 full-length albums since 2012.

Started as a one-man band by Stefan Pontoh (known under pseudonymous Lord Baphomet Van Northorn) in 2011, now it becomes a trio consists of Baphomet (vocals, guitars, drum programming, bass), El Diaboli (guitars) and undisclosed-yet bass player. They employ Heven as additional drummer during live.

To date, Northorn has released EPs R.O.S (2012), Engur (2013), Fall (2013), Hanging (2014); studio albums Klur (2014), Years upon Oppression (2015), Inhuman Reflection (2016); and a compilation CD titled Torture (10 Rhymes to a Self Punishment) in 2014.

Karikatur is a heavy/thrash metal veteran who incorporates Minahasan traditional music elements in their songs. Established around 90’s, the band has enough materials to complete a full-length album. Karikatur is survived by Kief Taufik (vocals), Tryx (guitars), Rhoma Rio Niode (guitars), Opay (bass) and Wade Anggan (drums).

Cited names such as Duo Serigala, Mia Khalifa, Phoenix Marie and Brandi Love as artists that they like in Facebook page, makes Artubiem considered as a cool and fun thrash metal band. Having released a single in 2013 titled Sengketa Demi Kuasa, the metal fans in Manado have been expecting new works from the band whom fronted by Kuman.

Artubiem was established in 2009, now consists of Kuman (vocals), Arafat (bass), Agung (guitars), Aip (guitars), and Agung (drums).

Nu-metal act Waruga will play a series of songs taken from their full-length debut album titled Songs For The Minahasanic War in 2016. Founded in 2004 in Tondano, Minahasa Regency by Wara Sual and Heven Karisoh, now the band comprises of Wara Sual, Heven Karisoh, Roland Tampi, Yeremia Mumu, and other additional members.

They just released an official lyric video for new single The Calling of Suicide, on May 9, 2017, featuring Stefan Pontoh from Northorn/Hellsing.

The band borrows the name from Minahasan specific sarcophagus waruga.

Black metal unit Calvarium has been haunting and bedeviling around the earth since 2011. The three original members Alan Bentelu (drums), Christian Robbynson Lakada (guitars), Brian Longkutoy (guitars), accompanied by Hafidz Ammar (vocals) and Andrew Pulingkareng, has released debut EP Voices of Devils Inside in 2016.

On December 25, 2016 Calvarium published their first official lyric video for single Abominasi Hipokrit, directed and edited by Manado-based animator Kinantara (Angga Rezha Permana).

Along with fellow town mate Durhaka, the band joined the second installment of Creepy: The Ultimate Underground Compilation, published by Biji Kopi Records on May 29, 2017.

Guitarist Ravly Rumate and frontman Charles Valentie Hess are the only survivors of the original members of Guillotine, a slamming brutal death metal act from Manado, founded in March 2011. The band has released an official video for 2013 single titled Potongan Tubuh Tanpa Kepala, produced by North Celebes Infantry Battalions in October 2015.

Ravly and Valent now are accompanied by Ozy Izzy (bass), Fialy Valentino Lahia (drums) and Rahman Ahmad (guitars).

There are three bands from Bitung Municipality in Monster of Distortion 5, i.e. Dangerous of Eternity, Separation of Disorder and Sacrament. They are considered regulars at the gig series. Death metal act Dangerous of Eternity was formed in 2007 by Andre (vocals), Defian Lamudju (guitars), Koko (bass), and Gilang (drums). The band has released single titled Kontra Sosial in 2013.

Current line up comprises frontman Rahman Arifin, duo guitarists Devian Lamadju and Fhey Aryan, and bassist Koko Daud.

Since its inception in 2010, groove metal act Sacrament’s drummer Muhammad Amy and guitarist Latto has been working hard to maintain their lovely band to keep on kicking in the North Sulawesi metal spectrum. A single Meniduri Kotoran Surga was released in 2013.

Sacrament now consists of Muhammad Amy (drums), Latto (guitars), Rizky (vocals) and Anto (guitars).


North Celebes Infantry Battalions spokesperson Leonardo Maasawet (known under moniker Legon), in his interview with talk about the show and the society. He said NCIB was established in 2012 and its first event was the Monsters of Distortion the first, held on December 8, 2012 at Soccer Cafe, Manado.

The second installment was organized a year later on November 2 at the very place, followed by the third edition on March 28, 2015 at Cloud 9 Manado. The Monsters of Distortion 3 featured death metal veteran Siksa Kubur as its headliner.

The fourth issue was happened on April 9, 2016 at Pingkan Matindas Hall.

Along with Monsters of Distortion gig series, NCIB also organized another events such as Halloween Metal Party in 2015, and A Tribute to Metalhead part 1 and 2 in 2015 and 2016, respectively.

Leo Maasawet is the frontman of Manado-based melodic black metal veteran Durhaka. The English Literature BA of Sam Ratulangi University joined Durhaka in 1998 and has released two full-length albums and an EP with the band, i.e. 2012 (2012), Black God Crusher (2014), and EP Cor Maleficus (2015).


WARUGA (Tondano)

Ticket is available for IDR 15 K, free a cup of coffee for every ticket holder. For further information you may contact the organizer at +852 5666 1202.

The Monster of Distortion 5 is supported by Kopination Cafe, Markobar, Hypernoid Screen Printing, Taka Rock Shop, Timeless, Manado Post, Lost In Chaos Media Zine,, and Sulut Hebat.


Facebook Comments

One thought on “North Celebes Infantry Battalions present Monsters of Distortion 5

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: