Guitarist Denny Syukur to premiere debut solo Jalan Pulang

Banda Aceh-based rock guitarist Denny Syukur will release his debut full-length solo album Jalan Pulang on August 26, 2017. The premiere will be held at DKA Building, Taman Budaya Banda Aceh.

Jalan Pulang is a journal of the guitarist personal narrative, cast in form of 7 instrumental tracks, which written and recorded since 2012, right after his previous project Virtuo Duo went on hiatus.

The album was recorded at dB Studio and Rumah Musik Cibloe, Banda Aceh by Jeffry Muntazier. Jeffry (known under moniker Tebonk) also mixed and mastered the whole tracks. Mastering took place at Denny’s own dB Studio.

Denny wrote and produced all songs. For this album, he was accompanied by fellow musicians guitarist Kalvin Muhammad, Alief Anton (drums) and Jeffry Muntazier (bass).

In his recent interview with, Denny said the album will be released in digital format at the premiere, and physical release will be launched in 2018. A tour to support the album is set to be held next year.

Denny Afrizal Syukur was born in Banda Aceh on April 19, 1976. He and sibling Deddy Iskandar are part of Banda Aceh-based renowned hard rock act Odezza since 1993. Early 90’s Denny learnt music theory and played with Acehnese music maestro Moritza Thaher at Moritza Music Club (now Sekolah Musik Moritza).

He has involved in many Acehnese famous singers music recordings such as Ramlan Yahya, Cut Ika, Seuramoe Reggae, etc.

In 2008, Denny and jazz-guitarist Nadisyah Putra formed a venture dubbed Virtuo Duo. With Virtuo Duo, Denny released debut eponymous full-length album in 2008, followed by sophomore full-length album Primigravida (2009).

2010 saw Denny recording album Motivator (unreleased) with Odezza. The album was produced by Pay BIP at his Palu Studio, Jakarta.

Along with Odezza and Virtuo Duo, Denny Syukur is known as member of Moritza Thaher and Friends, Morning Glory, Orkes Disko Apollo, and The Cobras.

Denny cited God Bless, Iwan Fals, Fariz RM, EdanE, Whitesnake, Deep Purple, Extreme, Jeff Beck, Nuno Bettencourt, Steve Vai, Joe Satriani, Joe Walsh, and Indra Lesmana as his main influences.



  1. ItanKlatz
  2. Rubic
  3. Love Song
  4. Route 66
  5. Tone Work
  6. This Rock
  7. Jalan Pulang


All tracks written by Denny Syukur
Produced by Denny Syukur
Recorded at DB Studio and Rumah Musik Cibloe, Banda Aceh
Engineered, mixed, and mastered by Jeffry Muntazier
Cover art and photography by Cuet Lee, Doddy Surya
Lay out by Farhan Firdaus


Denny Afrizal Syukur – guitars, synthesizers
Jeffry “Tebonk” Muntazier – bass
Alief Anton – drums
Kalvin Muhammad – guitars




Facebook Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: